Monday, March 21, 2016

Historical Markers Unveiled at Wiley College

Caleb Brabham reported this weekend for The Marshall (TX) New Messenger that three historical markers were unveiled to recognize Professor H.B. Pemberton, the first graduate of Wiley College, Dr. Matthew W. Dogan, Sr., the longest serving president of Wiley College, and Professor Melvin B. Tolson Sr., the faculty member who created and coached the debate team.

Wiley College's history is also remembered through the Buard History Trail where two of the historic sites feature higher education institutions, Wiley College founded in 1873 by the Methodist Episcopal Church and Bishop College founded by the Baptist Home Mission Society in 1881.  While Wiley College still operates in Marshall, Bishop College moved to Dallas, TX in 1961 and ultimately closed in 1988.