Sunday, October 30, 2022

Touro College and University System Prepares for 50th Anniversary Celebration

Touro College and University System is preparing to celebrate the 50th anniversary of its founding in 1971. 

Visit the Celebrating 50 Years web page for details on a gala planned for December 4th and links to historical information, including a timeline of key institutional milestones.

Touro operates as a global institution—with 35 schools in five states and four countries.

Thursday, October 27, 2022

Nyack College Changes Name

Nyack College has changed its name to Alliance University. The institution was founded as the Missionary Training Institute in 1882. The name was changed to Nyack Missionary College in 1956 and then to Nyack College in 1972. 

In 2018, Nyack College announced the intention to sell its 107-acre campus in Nyack and then moved its academic programs to its Lower Manhattan campus. 

You can read more in "Nyack College changes its name after 50 years," with reporting by Michael Gryboski.

Carthage College Marks 175th Anniversary with Placement of Marker

The Fort Madison (IA) Daily Democrat published "Carthage College celebrates 175 years" on October 24, 2022. The article coincides with the unveiling of a historical marker in Carthage, IL. 

Carthage College President John Swallow along with alumni and friends of Carthage College gathered at the entrance pillars to the former campus in Carthage to mark the college’s 175th anniversary.

While Carthage College has operated in Kenosha, WI since 1962, it was founded in Hillsboro, IL in 1847 as The Literary and Technological Institute of the Lutheran Church of the Far West. 

It was soon became known as Hillsboro College. It then moved to Springfield, IL in 1852 and operated at Illinois State University before moving to Carthage, IL in 1870. 

Campus buildings remain prominent in Carthage. Robert Morris College occupied the campus from 1965 until it moved to the Chicago area. 

You can visit the Carthage College History page to read more about the institution.

Westminster College in Utah Adopts New Name

The trustees of Westminster College in Salt Lake City, UT approved a name change for the institution and it will be known as Westminster University.

Westminster was founded as the Salt Lake Collegiate Institute, a preparatory school. It began offering college classes in 1897 as Sheldon Jackson College. It adopted a new name as Westminster College in 1902. 

Monday, October 24, 2022

50th Anniversary of West Virginia School of Osteopathic Medicine

West Virginia School of Osteopathic Medicine in Lewisburg, WV is celebrating the 50th anniversary of its founding in 1972. The institution was initially known as Greenbriar School of Osteopathic Medicine for four years. Visit the 50th Anniversary webpage for more information on planned activities.
The Parkersburg News and Sentinel also posted, "West Virginia School of Osteopathic Medicine marks 50th anniversary," with reporting by Douglass Huxley.

You can also read more about acquisition of the campus of the former Greenbriar Military School and the founding of the osteopathic school on the institutional history webpage.

Florida Gateway College Begins 75th Anniversary Celebration

Florida Gateway College in Lake City, FL is beginning a yearlong celebration of its founding 1947 as the Forest Ranger School. Visit the 75th anniversary web page for planned activities.

The institution initially utilized structures that remained from a World War II-era naval air station. In 1961, the state of Florida created Lake City Junior College on the campus of the old forestry school. It became Lake City Community College in 1970 and Florida Gateway College on July 1, 2010.

You can visit the FGC Our History page to read more about the institution's history.

The 75th Anniversary Celebration Edition Magazine also offers information on FGC history and current programs.

Thursday, October 13, 2022

Lyon College Celebrates Sesquicentennial

 Lyon College in Batesville, AR is preparing to celebrate the sesquicentennial of its founding in 1872

Events will kick off with ScotsFest (Homecoming & Annual Arkansas Scottish Festival) on October 14th-16th, with daily activities throughout the following week. Founders' Week celebrations will culminate on October 22nd with the inauguration of Lyon College's 19th President, Dr. Melissa Taverner, and a Black Tie Gala.

You can read more about the history of Lyon College by visiting the Our History web page.

Batesville's NBC affiliate KAIT posted "Lyon College hosting multiple events to honor 150th anniversary," with reporting by Hayden Savage on October 11, 2022.