Sunday, February 26, 2012

Forest Park University (MO)

Anna Sneed Cairns founded Kirkwood Seminary in 1861.  She moved the seminary in 1891 and it was renamed as Forest Park University, closing in 1925 or 1926. In addition to her role as an educator, Cairns was also a leader in both the prohibition and women's suffrage movements. The university consisted of three colleges (Forest Park College, the School of Art and Elocution, and the College of Music) as well as a preparatory school and served both boarding and day students.