Saturday, December 30, 2017

Nursing Education in North Carolina: Yearbooks and other Resources from DigitalNC

A variety of student yearbooks are now available in the North Carolina College and University Yearbooks collection at DigitalNC.  Brief descriptions of resources for three nursing and health sciences institutions were posted on the Digital North Carolina Blog along with links to the respective collections.
The Cabarrus College of Health Sciences collection includes yearbooks from 1948-2005.  The institution was founded in 1942 as Cabarrus County Hospital School of Nursing.  The name changed to the Louise Harkey School of Nursing in 1992 and the current name was adopted in 1996 after expansion of academic programs.
 The Mercy School of Nursing collection includes yearbooks from 1948-1998.  The Mercy Hospital School of Nursing was founded by the Sisters of Mercy.  It was acquired by Carolinas Healthcare in 1995 and ultimately closed in 2016.
The Rex Hospital School of Nursing Collection includes yearbooks from 1923-1974, photographs, scrapbooks, brochures, programs, and other items.  Rex Hospital School of Nursing operated in Raleigh from 1894-1974.