Sunday, October 16, 2016

Presidents Serving Eastern Washington University over the past 100 Years

The Easterner, independent, student-run news site for Eastern Washington University (EWU) posted an article this past week by Colette-Janae Buck, "Presidents: The prominent EWU presidents of the last 100 years."

EWU was founded as Benjamin P. Cheney Academy in 1882.  It became a State Normal School in 1890 and was known as Cheney State Normal School.  The name changed in 1937 to Eastern Washington College of Education, to Eastern Washington State College in 1961, and then to Eastern Washington University in 1977.  A "Chronology of the History of Eastern Washington University" is available as a .pdf through the EWU Digital Commons.