Thursday, December 18, 2014

Bethany College in Hepburn, Saskatchewan will be Closing

The Clarks Crossing Gazette reported on December 12, 2014 that Bethany College in Hepburn, Saskatchewan will be closing at the end of the current academic year.  Bethany was affiliated with the Mennonite Brethren Churches of Saskatchewan and Alberta and the Saskatchewan Evangelical Mennonite Mission Conference (EMMC).  The institution was founded in 1927 and was known as Bethany Bible Institute by the 1940's.  The Herbert Bible School joined with Bethany in 1958.

Principals and presidents include:  Dietrich P. Esau (1924-34), John B. Toews (1934-37), Gerhard W. Peters (1937-42), Gerhard D. Huebert (1942-45), Jacob H. Epp (1945-64), Cornelius Braun (1964-67, 1968-76, 1977-79), Abram H. Wieler (1967-68), Elmer Andres (1976-77), Isaac Bergen (1979-86), Cliff Jantzen (1986-91), James Nikkel (1991-95), Doug Berg (1995-99), and Rick Schellenberg (1999-2009).  Howie Wall is the current president .