Friday, March 7, 2014

Victory University Closing (TN)

George Brown and Stephanie Scurlock posted an article and video on the WREG website (Memphis, TN) indicating that Victory University will be closing.

The institution was founded as the Mid-South Bible Center (MSBC) with Reverend Thomas McKinney serving as director and received its charter of incorporation on December 19, 1944.  McKinney was succeeded by Dr. J. Howard Goddard in 1948. MSBC established a three-year Bible Institute and enrolled ten students in the fall semester of 1948. The State of Tennessee authorized an amendment to the Charter of the MSBC to change the name to Mid-South Bible Institute.

In the fall of 1958 a four-year collegiate program was offered and on May 26, 1960 changing the college name to Mid-South Bible College.  The institution was accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools. Accreditation in 1968.  The name was changed to Crichton College in 1987 honoring the death of former president, James B. Crichton.  

Crichton College became a private, for-profit institution of higher learning in 2009 and in May 2010, the Board of Directors approved the name change to Victory University.
A list of presidents follows:
  • Thomas W. McKinney (1940′s)
  • J. Howard Goddard (late 1940′s – 1953)
  • James B. Crichton (1953-1984)
  • Roger Clapp, Acting President (1984)
  • Robert Hilgenberg (1984-1989)
  • Lawrence McGrath, CEO/President (1989-1991)
  • Jimmy Latimer, Chancellor (1989-1992)
  • Larry Brooks (1992-1997)
  • Roger Clapp, Interim President (1997-1998)
  • Ronald Schmidt (1998-2003)
  • Robert Brian, Acting President (2003-2004)
  • Larry Lloyd (2004-2009)
  • Larry Linamen, Interim President (2009)
  • John M. Borek, Jr. (2009-2011)
  • Shirley Robinson Pippins (2011-present)